Reptilica Polaris


Our third album, Reptilica Polaris, is a big and very ambitious piece of work. The album is composed as one long piece, almost like a symphony in 11 parts. It is generously orchestrated with a 12-piece brass band, male choir, extra percussion, guitars, string etc.

The idea to make Reptilica Polaris span off from the “Bastard Kompleks”-suite on Akrobakkus and was composed during 2006-2007.

The lyrics are written by the Finnish poet Timo Haapaniemi and are built up as a homemade syntax error lingua of latin, english, greek, finnish, swedish, german words – some kind of “street latin” if you wish. It is poetic and lyrical and has much meaning although it takes some decoding to get the most out of them.

We started rehearsing and recording almost simultaneously, which made the recording session a rather time-demanding affair. We began working on the album late 2007 as a quintet, recording basic tracks and building it up piece by piece.

As we couldn’t afford having a male choir and brass orchestra in the studio all the time, we had to imagine those parts while recording our basic tracks. This was a rather challenging quest, but turned out to work great when we got a hold on it.

The recordings were ready in March 2008, and Reptilica Polaris is released by TUTL in June the same year. It was very well received and won us a Danish Music Award for “Best Contemporary Artist”

Recording engineer: John Fomsgaard
Produced by: John Fomsgaard and Afenginn
Additional recording: Lars Nissen, Frank Grønbæk
Recorded at Reptile Studios, Copenhagen 2008


released July 10, 2008


Rasmus Krøyer: clarinet, bass clarinet, contrabass clarinet
Niels Skovmand: violin, viola
Kim Nyberg: mandolin
Aske Jacoby: bass, banjo, mandocello, mandolin, guitar, lapsteel
Rune Kofoed: drums, percussion
Chamber Choir Camerata: male choir
Martin Nagashima Toft: choir conductor
Bent Clausen: marimba
Ole Theill: tablas

All music written by Kim Nyberg
Lyrics by Timo Haapaniemi


Rene Bjerregaard Nielsen: brass conductor
Kasper Tranberg: cornet
Jens Gotholdt: cornet
Jesper Riis: cornet
Karl Husum: trumpet, flugelhorn, cornet
Christer Gustafsson: trumpet, flugelhorn, piccolo trumpet
Mikael Frank Müller: trumpet, flugelhorn
Peter Dahlgren: trombone
Mads Hyhne: trombone
Lasse Frank Mouritzen: french horn
Øivind Slaatto: tuba

  1. Salveamini 02:03
  2. Oh, Natura Totalitator 00:55
  3. Ostinato Repetuum 03:39
  4. Demokrator Escalator 04:21
  5. Iguana Segregatis 03:57
  6. Kaskelotti 10:57
  7. Hosianna Reinkarnator 05:06
  8. Olmo Pasternale 05:30
  9. Dracul Mare Rosso 04:58
  10. Massacre Gnu 09:02
  11. Finale 05:24

Albums by Afenginn